shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : 0.00
View Cart Check Out

Waterford FC v Hearts Colts (Tunnock’s Caramel Wafer Challenge Cup)

Waterford FC 3 - 1 Hearts Colts
06 Sep 2019 - 19:45RSC -

Goals from Karolis Chvedukas, Alex Phelan and Regix Madika helped Waterford FC progress past Heart of Midlothian Colts with a 3-1 win in the Tunnock’s Caramel Wafer Challenge Cup.

The Blues were first to attack and Will Fitzgerald’s cross found its way to Cory Galvin who forced Hearts keeper Kelby Mason into a smart save.

Midway through the first half, the Blues, managed by Fran Rockett for the match, took the lead. Cory Galvin sent in the curling cross from the right and Karolis Chvedukas brilliantly headed the ball beyond the dive of Mason from 12-yards.

Hearts had two good chances before half time; Aidan Keena forced Blues keeper Paul Martin to save, before the keeper made an excellent save to keep out Connor Smith’s strike after build-up play from Keena.

Hearts came out guns blazing after the break and Keena struck the woodwork after 49 minutes, before Will Fitzgerald fired over at the other end.

The sides continued to trade chances as Alex Phelan linked up with Colm Whelan but the latter’s strike was saved by Mason. At the other end, Callumn Morrison fired over Martin’s crossbar.

Mason saved again from Whelan before the visitors levelled. Callumn Morrisons’s cross fell to Leon Watson and he found the back of the net.

But the Blues regained the lead after 80 minutes. Cory Galvin swept the ball to Alex Phelan and he fired the ball beyond Mason to make it 2-1.

And four minutes later it was 3-1. Tom Holland found Regix Madika on the left and he drove at goal to find the back of the net via a slight deflection to secure the win and a spot in the next round.

Waterford FC: Paul Martin, Darragh Power, Reece Murphy, Rob Slevin,  Niall O’Keeffe, Karolis Chvedukas, Tom Holland, JJ Lunney (Alex Phelan 46), Cory Galvin (Dean Beresford 80), Will Fitzgerald (Regix Madika 62), Colm Whelan

Hearts Colts: Kelby Mason, Cameron Logan, Daniel Baur, Christopher Hamilton, Leon Watson, Dean Ritchie (Scott McGill 85), Jay Sandison (Euan Henderson 46), Harry Cochrane, Aidan Keena, Connor Smith, Callumn Morrison

Referee: Paul Howard (England)