shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : 0.00
View Cart Check Out

Waterford FC vs St Patricks Athletic (Home) – SSE Airtricity League

Waterford FC 1 - 2 St Patricks Athletic
05 Jul 2019 - 19:45Waterford Regional Sports Centre

Waterford FC fell to a 2-1 defeat on Friday night against St Patrick’s Athletic. 

Jamie Lennon was first to threaten for the visitors but Matthew Connor cleared the danger.

Dean O’Halloran then found the run of Dean Walsh but defender Ciaran Kelly cleared the danger as Walsh tried to cut inside.

Conor Clifford had an opportunity St Pats when Simon Madden crossed for Jake Walker but Clifford shot was straight at Matthew Connor.

It was a spectacular strike that gave the Blues the lead on the half hour. Shane Duggan found Dean Walsh who in turn found Cory Galvin on the corner of the penalty area and he unleashed a superb strike to beat Brendan Clarke from 20-yards.

But the lead lasted just two minutes; Jamie Lennon played the quick free kick to Conor Clifford and he unleashed an unstoppable strike past Connor from 30-yards.

St. Patrick’s Athletic almost grabbed the lead before half time when Simon Madden found Dean Clarke but his cracking strike came crashing back off the crossbar. 

St Pat’s took the lead after 62 minutes. Ian Bermingham played in Kevin Toner to send in the deep cross. Dean Clarke’s header was blocked by defender Georgie Poynton but Clarke fired home the rebound to give Harry Kenny’s team a 2-1 lead.

Waterford chased the game in search of an equaliser and Bastien Hery found the target with a back-post header from but keeper Clarke made the save.

Kenny Browne then picked out the run of Rory Feely who found Shane Duggan on the edge of the penalty area but he fired over the crossbar as Waterford pressed.

In the final minutes, St Pat’s keeper Brendan Clarke earned the points for the visitors when his brilliant save from Dean O’Halloran’s header to secure a 2-1 win.

Waterford FC: Matthew Connor, Rory Feely, Kenny Browne, Maxim Kouogun, Kevin Lynch (Georgie Poynton 46), Shane Duggan, Bastien Héry, Dean O’Halloran, Cory Galvin (JJ Lunney 64), John Martin, Dean Walsh (Tom Holland 64)

St Patrick’s Athletic: Brendan Clarke, Simon Madden, Kevin Toner, Lee Desmond, Ciaran Kelly, Ian Bermingham, Jamie Lennon, Conor Clifford, Dean Clarke (Darragh Markey 75), Cian Coleman, Jake Walker (Gary Shaw 58)

Referee: Sean Grant