shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : 0.00
View Cart Check Out

MATCH REPORT: Waterford FC 4-0 Derry City

Waterford FC got back to winning ways at the RSC after comfortable 4-0 win at home to Derry City at the RSC.

Rory Feely, Izzy Akinade and Sander Puri fired First-half goals, before Stanley Aborah put the gloss on an excellent performance with a late fourth goal in the second half.

The Blues had a good early chance as Faysel Kasmi sent in the free kick that picked out Kenny Browne but Eoin Toal made the block to effort.

Visitors Derry City should have taken the lead when Ronan Curtis did well to work space the left to pull the ball back for Aaron McEneff in front of goal but he fired wide of Lawrence Vigouroux’s goal from 12 yards.

And Derry were left to rue that miss five minutes later. Derry City failed to clear Kasmi’s corner from the left and Rory Feely was on hand to fire beyond City keeper Doherty with the aid of a slight deflection.

And The Blues hit Derry for a second goal two minutes. Again it was Kasmi with the set piece from the middle of midfield that picked out the run of Ismahil Akinade and he struck the ball into the back of the net.

It was 3-0 five minutes before half time. Sander Puri picked up possession 35 yards from goal and unleashed a rocket of a strike that flew into the top corner.

Alan Reynolds’ side could have added a fourth in the second half; Courtney Duffus was too wide to shoot before squaring to Akinade, but the striker couldn’t get enough contact.

And as much as the visitors tried to get back into the game, the Blues defence held firm. And substitute Stanley Aborah put the gloss on an excellent performance when he picked the ball 25 yards from goal before turning and firing beyond Doherty to make it for a 4-0 win.

Waterford FC: Lawrence Vigouroux, Rory Feely, Kenny Browne, David Webster, Dylan Barnett, Bastien Héry, Gavan Holohan (John Martin 82), Faysel Kasmi (Stanley Aborah 60), Sander Puri, Courtney Duffus (Dean Walsh 86), Izzy Akinade

Derry City: Gerard Doherty, Conor McDermott (Ronan Hale 72), Eoin Toal, Darren Cole, Jack Doyle, Aaron McEneff, Rory Hale (Niall Logue 87), Nicky Low, Jamie McDonagh, Rory Patterson, Ronan Curtis

Referee: Rob Rogers (Dublin)